Mod 8 gearbox Main bearing

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
Ozmadman

Post by Ozmadman »

Hi again
I am rebuilding a spare gearbox which apart from a few small replacement parts is in very good nick. I am replacing the main output shaft seal and all the other o rings etc as a matter of course but am undecided what to do with the main shaft output bearing. It looks ok runs smooth and all the rollers are clean and undamaged but is it false economy to re-build with the original bearing? I have a spare bearing that came with the box but it is not the correct size (it says its a Nu205E TVP2 FAG) and the rollers are too big. The one in the box looks like it may be the original as it is a SKEF bearing but a replacement from JPL is £37.00 and I don't want to spend unnecessarily. Even though I am new to all this after a 38 year abstinence I know this design is not too good and needs to be kept topped up with oil but is this particular bearing a problem with this box or can I safely us the old one? There are a couple of pics in the photos section.

Thanks again guys PaulEdited by - Ozmadman on 20 Dec 2011 4:27:53 PM
Paul
1960 Model 8
1974 Yamaha RD250B US Model 6 speed
cbranni

Post by cbranni »

As you had no replies I may as well chip in with my twopenneth, its a spare box so it may not get used, so wash the bearing well, blow all the muck out, check it runs free with no slop and use it.
Only my opinion
Colin
only dead fish go with the flow
Ozmadman

Post by Ozmadman »

quote:
As you had no replies I may as well chip in with my twopenneth, its a spare box so it may not get used, so wash the bearing well, blow all the muck out, check it runs free with no slop and use it.
Only my opinion
Colin