Courier Boots and a Smile

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
MoggyW

Post by MoggyW »

I thought I'd best start a new thread, the last one got long and very depressing....

I have been warmed and humbled by the kindness, support and wisdom I've been shown by most members of this site, and thought it only fair to properly thank you all!

I have some small experience in old vehicles, like nursing my boyfriend's 68 Tiger 100 round Spain with nothing but a leaky tent and a smile, (which incidentally I can start?!) and my daily drive is a 1961 Morris Mini called Penny (now SHE takes love and maintenance, all done by me), and I am lucky enough to have a very patient and knowledgeable other half/teacher who does hold my hand, but also now sometimes makes while tea, while I work to keep these lovely old hunks of junk on the tarmac.

I agree I was impulsive to buy that bike, I have wanted a Matchless for a long time but didn't do too much research into models. If I had I probably wouldn't have been put off either, being stubborn! I have had many conversations recently with people who feel this bike to be unfashionable and unreliable, but hey, he's mine and someone has to love him!

I did take the "full nut and bolt restoration" description with a pinch of salt, and, as predicted and expected, I'm having to work on it to make it a reliable bike, lots of tweaking and adjusting and tightenting (my spanners are not made of cheese like it's previous owner's appears to have been), however I have not found anything fundamentally wrong with it yet. If there is I still believe in the beauty of old machines - almost ANYTHING can be fixed!

I am not a purist and I know it is very shiny and is incorrect for its era blah blah but when I see all that chrome I picture it covered in road dust after another triumphant leg of a journey! I fully understand the meaning of the word reliable when used in this context - just see my AA premiums for proof!