oil leak

Information relating to the Matchless G9 or AJS Model 20 500cc twin
54model20

oil leak

Post by 54model20 »

hope someone can give me a bit of advice ive just been out for a short ride on my 1954 model 20 about 40 miles when i got home i noticed oil on my right boot and on gear change rubber . the bike is running ok and only drips a bit from primary chain case when standing i noticed a bit of oil where oil pipe enters crank case ( front one) and wondered if there is a seal or something in there im no expert with speanners so would appreciate a few pointers before i do any permanent damage cheers guys
Eric

oil leak

Post by Eric »

The connection is made with something called a Banjo Union either side of the banjo part should have a fibre washer. Drain the oil from the oil tank then undo the hexagon head of the feed connection (the front one) to check the washers.

You will probably find one has split or is damaged or the union may just have been loose. Replace as required and you may as well check the return one (the rear one).

Re-fill the oil tank and everyting should be OK.

oil leak

Post by 1608 »

Beware, I thought the hose was loose on my feed (G12). Eventually discovered that the solder joint had failed on the short copper tube that is attached to the banjo.
54model20

oil leak

Post by 54model20 »

thanks guys have some new washers on the way
mikek1980

oil leak

Post by mikek1980 »

my 54 G9 leaked from the stud for the dynamo, that also resulted in oil on the boots
54model20

oil leak

Post by 54model20 »

how did you remedy the problem with dynamo
Groily

oil leak

Post by Groily »

Should we infer your dynamo leaks too?

As to a cure . . . I have looked at 3 things.