cruising speed on model20

Information relating to the Matchless G9 or AJS Model 20 500cc twin
54ajay

Post by 54ajay »

i have been riding a 1954 model 20 regularly for around 3 years now and was wondering what a normal comfortable cruising speed would be for this model. The bike goes up to 45mph easily after this she seems to be revving highly and i dont want to put the engine under any undue strain i never take a pillion and there are no signs a sidecar has ever been fitted
Groily

Post by Groily »

Ah! The comfortable cruise . . .
It should go a bit beyond 45 comfortably on standard gearing, but they are a bit buzzy. Not many bikes of the era were capable of the revs we can do - but revs on their own never killed anything.
I and one or two others I know are happy to cruise at 55mph/90kph on early models. But not much more. By cruise, I mean 'run for miles', not just to the end of the straight bit in front of you.
If you were to stuff a 17 toother on the gearbox instead of the standard 16, you'd be OK up to 60-ish although head winds and hills can be a pain. I am told by folk who have speedos that work better than mine that my sweet cruising speed is 58mph with the extra tooth, or about 53mph with the standard one. I have the personal profile of a lead brick.
2-up is emergency only with the darn silly short seats we're supplied with and my big bum.
If pressed, however, the thing will run at 65 or more and won't blow up unless it's unwell, although it might do something for the oil consumption. As mine has over a quarter of a million miles on it, I tend not to push it too hard, and stick in the 50s. I'm not usually in a hurry, or I'd have taken something else out.
So I'd say 50-55 should be OK assuming you have the standard crank sprocket with however many teeth that is.
wilko

Post by wilko »