Advice on buying my first lightweight

Helpful information and requests for assitance and advice
andy1b

Post by andy1b »

What's wrong with the 250 models?!
I am new to the classic scene and want an introduction bike that will be kind to me as I learn the mechanical basics.
Frank Westworth, in his classic bike guide book,is not very complimentary about the 250 models.
Should I steer clear and go for a BSA?
Could anybody give me some advice on buying my first 250?

Thanks very much,andy1b
Merlin

Post by Merlin »

Why not a G3LS great bike easy to ride and there are plenty about.
Chemists do it with test tubes
Biscuit
Deceased

Post by Biscuit »

Most people seem to have a down on lighweights. They do seem to be a bit cheapish when studied thoroughly, and the apparent unit engine isn't, the gearbox is separate. They do seem to have gained in popularity in recent years. I have ridden the 350 version and it went like stink and handled very well.

Tolly

Post by Tolly »

I own a G5 which is the 350, although a very good bike and lovely ride. As a new-comer to the classic world I would go, as Merlin suggested, for the G3. The reason for this is that there are a few anomalies with the lightweights, such as the gearbox, which requires more routine maintenance, the G3 is probably the better bike to start off with (in my opinion). I hope this helps.

Regards, Tolly.

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
itma

Post by itma »

My advice to anyone contemplating one of these for a first bike is to forget it.
All the above is quite relevant, more or less, and these bikes can be made ok.

BUT these bikes have had a very hard life, and most will, for various reasons, been owned, messed with by 40 years of plonkers, I dont know why, probably because no one else wanted them.
I have just done a rebuild on one of these, it was a nightmare and cost 700£ and that was not for what I would class as an overhaul.