First startup after rebuild

Information relating to the Matchless G9 or AJS Model 20 500cc twin
RodneyK

First startup after rebuild

Post by RodneyK »

Hi All,
Thanks to your help I have my 55 G9 assembled with a rebuilt engine, gearbox and mag. Everything seems to work as per the manual specs but as yet I have only turned it over once to adjust the valves. It’s very stiff. I have not added any oil or gasoline yet so it is completely dry.
I am looking for a check list or step by step procedure to get it started from this state without damaging anything in the process. I have no experience with this bike other than building it from parts. Any help in getting it running would be greatly appreciated.
spookefoote1956

Re: First startup after rebuild

Post by spookefoote1956 »

I'd get a little oil down the barrel, if you haven't already, before you do some damage.
Hail Joe Lucas ............ Prince of Darkness!
All my bikes are original........ to me!
"Creativity is your intelligence having fun" Albert Einstein
RodneyK

Post by RodneyK »

There is a little oil in the cylinders just from the assembly. How do I get oil from the tank into the pump and all the oil channels before I try to start it? Just kick it over dry?
Groily

Post by Groily »

I've normally poured a few fl oz of oil into the crankcase, made sure the crank had a goodly squirt when it was out, bores too, soaked the felt main filter in oil (and made a mess putting it in), liberally oiled the rockers on assembly, squirted some oil onto the valve stems and down the plug 'oles, filled the oil tank and let gravity get it to the pump.