Tin Chain Cases

Helpful information and requests for assitance and advice
bobbyb123

Tin Chain Cases

Post by bobbyb123 »

Hi, I'm relatively new to the intricacies of fettling a Matchless and am in the process of making a "special", AKA, "I can't be bothered to wait for or even afford to purchase new tin wear, so I'll make it into a trial bike" Could someone please advise whether its possible to fit a later tin outer primary chain case with a removeable clutch adjusting dome to an inner case that was matched to an original none removeable dome, or are they paired for some engineering reason and I have to fit them as a pair? I intend to fit stainless oil hoses instead of the original rigid ones, is this, not withstanding cost or originality, a good or bad decision?
Thanks, Bob
Biscuit
Deceased

Tin Chain Cases

Post by Biscuit »

I believe you can mix and match any year of PRESSED STEEL chaincase, except of course single and twin inners. As long as the pipes/hoses carry the oil and don't leak, go for it.

Biscuit
Deceased

Tin Chain Cases

Post by Biscuit »

Whoops - finger trouble!!!!!!!!!!!Edited by - Biscuit on 03 Jan 2006 4:58:39 PM

Dick Hobart

Tin Chain Cases

Post by Dick Hobart »

Hi Robert
I'm sure what Alan says is correct, and going for an outer with the removable dome is a good move, but don't forget that you'll be moving into the time (57 road bikes; 57 - end comp. bikes), when the shock absorber moved from the engine to the clutch with a corresponding smaller front dome. Make sure you get one with a front dome to suit your needs, unless you're able to modify accordingly. No problem with the hoses - lots of trials and moto-cross lads have done what you propose.
Good luck - Dick H
Chazzyb

Tin Chain Cases

Post by Chazzyb »

quote:
Hi Robert