key G12CS

Information relating to the Matchless G12 or AJS Model 31 650cc twin
charlski

key G12CS

Post by charlski »

This may sound like a stupid question, but something that seems really simple has got me stumped, i am just starting work on a 58 G12CS that has been under blankets in my garage for a long time, i do not have a key for it, as it was imported from the USA some time ago and not yet registered, so .......... if i had a key .... where would it go ????, as i have looked all over this bike and cannot see anything that looks like an ignition ??? i have never worked on one of these before so running a bit blind .... did they come with a key ?? is it staring me in the face ??? or did they come with some kind of switch as i guess after all they are comp models ???before i start stripping down i wanna see if it has spark etc etc hopefully someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks

KC
dave16mct

Re: key G12CS

Post by dave16mct »

No, it won't have a key with a magneto.
charlski

Post by charlski »

OK thanks, so do i just use the large 3 way switch on the headlamp ?? if so what is each switch setting for ?? if thats is what i use ?

Thanks
MikeM.

Post by MikeM. »

Presume you mean the light switch then it's off, park and headlight.
charlski

Post by charlski »

OK .. yes just looked thats right, off park and headlight so to kick it over, i assume that is irrelevant then as its just to switch headlight on ? am i missing a trick, is there a on / off switch or should it just kick over without turning or switching anything on ??

Thanks

KC
MikeM.

Post by MikeM. »