1-5/8 exhaust pipes

Information relating to the Matchless G12 or AJS Model 31 650cc twin
AJS 500

1-5/8 exhaust pipes

Post by AJS 500 »

Can anyone advise me where I can buy new Downpipes for my 1960 G12 please. I've been restoring the bike for the past 2 years and I'm having trouble locating some. I contacted Feked.com and they don't make them any more. found one shop online who haven't replied to emails and reviews say they are a con. Only other I've come across seems to be armours? Are there others out there?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
AJS 500

Re: 1-5/8 exhaust pipes

Post by AJS 500 »

Take it no one knows...I have taken the plunge and ordered tubes and silencers from armours. 7-10 days wait for the pipes to be plated....

John Jarrett

Post by John Jarrett »

Good luck. From your post I assume you have ordered a left and right downpipe rather than a siamese system?
Also as 1960, I assume it is a twin downtube frame with the later heads with exhaust ports at different angles to the earlier heads?
Is it for an alternator or dynamo model?
There are so many differences in the pipes and I am not really sure whether all the potential variations are now catered for.
I would be interested to know how you get on.
AJS 500

Post by AJS 500 »

Hi John, yes it's tricky finding pipes for all the variables. It's a Dynamo model, yes to all the others. Twin pipes with megas. They are the only company I've found making them, one company that claimed it stocked them did not answer emails and turned out to take people's money and running, luckily I read the reviews. I'm Hoping they will fit ok, if not a tweak with the a hydraulic pipe bender may be needed. Will let you know.

longman

Post by longman »