Fuel tap seal failure

Information relating to the Matchless G12 or AJS Model 31 650cc twin
ixonchitts

Fuel tap seal failure

Post by ixonchitts »

Hi,
I recently refuelled with a brand I've never used before (although fairly widespread in the Highlands and Islands) whilst on a tour of the outer Hebrides. Within 24hrs both main and reserve fuel taps began leaking badly. I've never had a problem with them during the two years I've had the bike although I don't know how old the seals are. Could it be a coincidence and I was just unlucky or has anyone else encountered similar problems? Could vibration cause them to fail -it was the first extended ride I've had since I got the bike?
Rob Harknett

Re: Fuel tap seal failure

Post by Rob Harknett »

If there are any features on the taps where you could tighten or loosen the washers, then vibration could make them leak. Depends what taps you have. The type with flat washer top and bottom of the on/off slide could loosen. Pull on type with barrel cork could loosen, if you have the old type fitted with a screw, you can tighten to compress the cork. Repros usually have corks riveted so you cannot replace them, buy new tap instead. Maybe the bike had just stood too long, taps sized a bit. petrol and vibes got to work loosen them. Check for anything loose, adjust corks/washers if you can, or replace, That should be the end of the problem.
ixonchitts

Post by ixonchitts »

Thanks for the advice Rob, they are the pull on type. I hope to get a chance to examine them in detail tomorrow.
Rob Harknett

Post by Rob Harknett »