G12 CSR engine noises

Information relating to the Matchless G12 or AJS Model 31 650cc twin
ajsm18

G12 CSR engine noises

Post by ajsm18 »

Hello,

I've got a 1960 G12 CSR fake. At least, the frame is a de luxe model, although it does have a 1961 Model 31CSR engine.

Anyway, it has become very rattly and, as I don't want to strip it down as I'll never get it back together, I thought I'd ask my fellow AMC enthusiasts for some ideas of what to check.

I can't identify when the noise started as it has always made a lot of noise but it no longer ticks over and, when I shut the throttle off, the engine just wants to die. I've checked the tappets but they were adjusted correctly. It always starts with no trouble, it just makes a lot of rattly noises and worries me that I have a serious problem! I can't hear any grinding noises and, when I touch the crankcases with the engine running, I can't feel any knocking but I feely admit that I'm not good at identifying noises!

A friend has suggested checking the rocker feed but, unlike my Model 18, there isn't an external feed to detach. If I remove the rocker covers and run the engine, should I be able to see a dribble around the rockers?

Any thoughts or suggestions would be very gratefully received.

Many thanks

Mark
petert120r

Re: G12 CSR engine noises

Post by petert120r »

If you run the engine with the rocker covers off you'll quickly cover your knees with a fine spray of oil if the feed is OK. Are you getting a decent return to the oil tank? A more specific definition of the "rattly noises" would be helpful in trying to diagnose the problem!
dave16mct

Post by dave16mct »

Is there any blue smoke from the exhausts? Are the plugs oily black? If so it might be severe piston slap, needing a rebore. Dave

Post by 1608 »