Cut out switch on magneto

Information relating to the Matchless G11 or AJS Model 30 600cc twin
match53

Post by match53 »

Hello

This my first time on this or any forum, so I hope you lads and lasses can help. I am very new to the world of Britsh and clasic bikes, been brought up on Japan's finest,push button-go-stop.
Good but not much character,nothing to tinker with, so after looking at some old photo's of my father on his 1953 G3l took the plunge.
great so far met lot's of people willing to help an offer free advice. Anyway.... this is probably the most easiest of fixes to other people but when you are out of ideas you call in the cavalry.

I have just purchased a lovley 1957 G11, but I am unable to stop the engine.I belive you simple push the cut out switch and hold it depressed until the engine pitters out. On my previous bike 1958 G3 it was fitted with a cut out switch on the handle bars.
I have taken the outer cover off the magneto and the push is spring loaded mechanisum works fine. it seems to bottom out on a chrome bolt head. i have looked through a few manuals but I am completley stumped.
Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

Match53
itma

Post by itma »

you should be able to stop the engine by pushing the button on the end cap of the magneto.
If that don't work, [are you pushing hard enough?] then something is missing, maybe the carbon brush behind the rotating plate?
lawrence

Post by lawrence »

Hi David

Welcome to the forum!

Take a length of wire (bare at each end). With the engine running touch one end of the wire to the brass nut on the mag cover and the other end to earth (e.g. the engine).

The engine should immediately stop. If it does then you have a break in the cable between the cut-out switch and the mag.

If the engine doesn't stop then the mag needs looking at.

Once you have done this test let us know the result and lots of advice will follow from all the posters.

Most will be conflicting but that is part of the fun!
Don Madden