Gear box Noise

Information relating to the Matchless G80 or AJS Model 18 500cc Heavyweight.
Fergus Mercer

Gear box Noise

Post by Fergus Mercer »

I am new to my AJS 18 48. Is the gear selection from neutral into 1st meant to be quite so crunchy ? I have oil in the box and my clutch seem to be fine. I also know the gear box is refered to as 'industrial' in some hand-books. Can you help ?
Mick D

Re: Gear box Noise

Post by Mick D »

Hi

Do you habitually free the clutch before starting the bike? (pull the clutch lever in and action the kick start so as the clutch spins freely). If you don't the first engagement can be very 'crunchy'.

In normal riding there should be no significant noise when changing gear, if there is I'd check the clutch pressure plate is lifting off evenly, you may need to adjust the clutch springs to achieve this.

Regards Mick
spookefoote1956

Post by spookefoote1956 »

Which gearbox is on it Fergus? I have a B52 on mine and they're renowned for first gear crunch.
Hail Joe Lucas ............ Prince of Darkness!
All my bikes are original........ to me!
"Creativity is your intelligence having fun" Albert Einstein
SPRIDDLER

Post by SPRIDDLER »

Welcome, Fergus.
As said it sounds like a poor set-up of the plate springs or poor clutch adjustment. Be aware that the cable adjuster only adjusts the slack in the cable; it does not adjust the actual clutch assembly. As you no doubt realise there's no synchro so some notchyness selecting first is quite normal. A crunch can be more noticeable if the primary and/or rear chains are slack.
If you don't have them, manuals are available to study/download here under 'Books'......

http://archives.jampot.dk/
'There is a tide in the affairs of men
Which taken at the flood............'
Group Leader

Post by Group Leader »