AJS Model 18CS - unusual parts identification

Information relating to the Matchless G80 or AJS Model 18 500cc Heavyweight.
Feral

AJS Model 18CS - unusual parts identification

Post by Feral »

Hello to all,

I started a thread a while back about the same subject, I now have more pictures small enough to upload, so I am repeating my quest for information. See below.

Although I have owned a couple of AJS for a few years, I am just getting around to sorting them out and I am a novice to the marque. I am hoping that somebody out there can tell me about my bike.

It looks like a Model 18CS, but the engine and frame numbers have been messed about with making it impossible for the dating team from the club to identify it, so I was hoping that the keen eyed amongst you can help me out.

The bike is clearly a bitsa, cobbled together from what ever parts were available.

I have done some research online and asked a few local enthusiasts what parts it could have been made up from, but I am stumped when it comes to the frame. It is obviously a heavy weight frame, but the sub frame is unusual as it has a bracket low down on the near side, just above the rear foot rest bracket (see attachment) and another bracket, but shaped differently on the off side. I would appreciate it if somebody could tell me what these are for and which bike the frame came from originally.

I have trawled the internet and parts manuals and as yet not found a single picture or diagram with these brackets. If they were intended for a side car, why can't I find a picture? There must have been lots made.

There are some other obvious anomalies, the rear mudguard bracket is too long and the there have been some strengthening plates crudely welded in front of the jampot mounts.

To give you all the information that I have, I believe the engine is as the V5 states, a 500cc, but I won't know for sure until I take a look inside. The V5 states that it is a 1951 model, but the true year is anyone's guess.