points adjustment 1954 SR-1

Information relating to the Matchless G80 or AJS Model 18 500cc Heavyweight.
tbounds

points adjustment 1954 SR-1

Post by tbounds »

I have read everything i could find so far and I am still confused as to setting points. My questions I am new to AJS , but have experience with BMW which I know is different . What order do you give bike a tune up ? what is order in reference to points , timing , valves.
I would guess that timing and points would be first .

2nd I haven;t been able to figure out how to set the points , I have read one article about twisting points on advance to full advance ? clockwise or counter clockwise , then wedge a piece of wood in the to keep them in full advance . Then go to timing gears and remove gear from mag , that is where it gets screwy for me to understand .

3rd setting valves maybe a little more understandable setting them at TDC but no its BTDC by some many degrees/inches/mm.

It seems the that since all of this goes together could someone please explain the sequence of tuning and adjusting all 3 how to do and check them all the most efficient and best way. I sure wish there was a youtube video it makes it lot easier to understand to most of you appears so simple .

thanks sorry for long post.
Tony
Johnobirches

Re: points adjustment 1954 SR-1

Post by Johnobirches »

Hi Tony,

You need to get the maintenance manual for your bike all the information will be in there – correct sequence and what to do etc. – with diagrams. You should find it here http://archives.jampot.dk

You time the valves by setting the two toothed gears in the engine's timing cover in correct orientation with the pinion on the end of the crankshaft. The gears and pinion have reference dots to help but it differs from bike to bike.

The points, or contact breaker gap, is set inside the cover of the SR1 by rotating the engine until the points are fully open and checking the gap is right (12 thou for my bike) and adjusting as necessary.