oil change

Information relating to the Matchless G3 or AJS Model 16 350cc Heavyweight
bjimc

oil change

Post by bjimc »

hi all I am new to matchless has any one got photos of the oil tank filters that show them better than the owners hand book and do you remove the sump plug when you do a oil change as can not find a reference to it in the hand book 1955 350 g3 thanks all
Mick D

Re: oil change

Post by Mick D »

Hi

If you go to the AMOC Spares link on the front page and then search for the relevant part numbers: 000796, (filter), and 015198, (strainer), you will see photos of both.

As far as draining the sump, I would as I believe it to be good practice.

Regards Mick
Rob Harknett

Post by Rob Harknett »

As you are new to the bike, you have no history. Quite a bit of muck may have settled in the sump. So I would run the engine to get the oil warmed up and thinned a bit, then drain the sump. By then the sump should have returned to its correct level. If drained before running the engine there may also be a lot of "sumped " oil. I always use quite a deep old meat tray just in case there's more oil than expected. Not knowing history, use straight SAE 50. Its summer oil, but then you are unlikely to use the bike much when very cold. If you use a detergent multi grade oil, this will loosen muck that may be in the engine, you do not know about. Clogging up filters, block oil ways. Use a new washer replacing the sump plug. Remember if may take up to 10 minutes ticking over, to refill the sump to correct level, before seeing oil returning to tank. Giving the filter a good wash with petrol should clean it OK.
HarryD

Post by HarryD »

I, too, am pretty new to working on engines. I have a 1955 18S and just completed an oil change. However, I wasn't aware of the strainer (015198) mentioned by Mick. Could you tell me where it is?
I'm also putting a 1951 16MS back together: will it require one as well?
Many thanks, Harry

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
bjimc