G5 CRANKCASE BREATHER OIL LOSS

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
chesp

G5 CRANKCASE BREATHER OIL LOSS

Post by chesp »

Hi Everyone,
This is my first time on the forum with a problem of oil leakage from the crankcase breather. I have owned the G5 for 44 years but it has been in bits for 40 of those years.I have recently completed the rebuild over the past year and it is complete and running. On the first road test I noticed on my return, oil had been discharged from the crankcase breather, approx 1.5 pints lost over 20 miles.
I have checked externally the tightness of lock bolt for the breather stator ring and that was still in place (the later type of breather is on this engine, separate lock bolt and breather hole in crankcase). I have also changed the felt oil filter for the wire mesh type in case oil flow was restricted back into the integral oil tank. Unfortunately this has not solved the problem. I know that a small amount of oil escapes through the breather oil but not to the extent I am experiencing.
If any one has experienced this problem, I will look forward and appreciate any suggestion to what is the cause and remedy is to this problem.
clanger9

Re: G5 CRANKCASE BREATHER OIL LOSS

Post by clanger9 »

Daft question, but is the oil level in the tank too high?
1989 Moto Morini Dart 350
1993 Ducati 750SS
chesp

Post by chesp »

No. Oil was measured in at 2 1/2 pints and top level sits roughly 1/2" below the oil return hole in crankcase.
I have also ensured that the small breather hole between the crankcase and the oil tank is clear.
clanger9

Post by clanger9 »

Hmm, there are a few things you can look for if it's not scavenging properly:
- Is the "plug" end of the oil pump properly sealed? The big screw plug can be tricky to get all the way home. Needs the gearbox out to check this.