stoplight switch

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
silverbob

stoplight switch

Post by silverbob »

Hi guys have just purchased a replica Wipac stoplight switch for my 1960 G5 but am unable to work out how to fit it. My present switch is taped up with insulating tape the spring wrapped around the circlip where brake rod goes into foot lever. and the switch is mounted on a rod that goes into pillion footrest, all a bit heath robinson. Hence purchase of new switch. Only had bike couple months and its great to ride. Apart from oil leaks wrong parts fitted bad wiring etc, all of which will be sorted. This is my first of many posts, also my first amc bike though I have been riding and repairing/building bikes for many years. My aim is to get this to as near original as possible. any help would be appreciated Bob
clive

Re: stoplight switch

Post by clive »

Bob if this is one of many posts it would be an idea to join the club because at the moment you are not showing as a member and your posts are having to be moderated before they appear. Checking the membership there is someone with the same name. Is it possible you have changed your sign in from old man bob to silverbob? If so you need to email webmaster@jampot.com to get your membership transferred to the new name. If it's not you why not join the club as you will only get limited access which will be time limited too as a guest. Regards Adverts Editor.
clive
if it ain't broke don't fix
alanengineer

Post by alanengineer »

Hi silverbob
United kingdom is close to me, so feel free to come and have a look at my G5. The original brake light switch set up is worth replicating as it looks so much nicer than the bodged up versions
Ozmadman

Post by Ozmadman »