G5 Carburation.

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
crawsue

G5 Carburation.

Post by crawsue »

I know that I have been here before,but I am now at the end of my tether trying to set up this carb'.It starts fine,ticksover O.K. pulls well ,but in the 1st 1/8th of throttle opening it "hunts" badly.All settings have been carefully checked (points,plug,adv/ret)the carb' is exactly as specified ,the manifold is well seated.I have moved the needle up and down --up makes it too rich and fouls the plug,down has no effect.I contacted a carb'supplier who suggested the throttle slide valve was worn and that replacement was the only cure,but as the machine ran well before the bottom -end work I am reluctant to fork out £160:00 or so to replace the carb'.I have little experience of "monoblocks" but those who have seen it seem to agree that looks to be in fair condition.Is a worn slide such a big deal? HELP---PLEASE!!!!!
Hard work never killed anyone.....but why take the risk?
lawrence

G5 Carburation.

Post by lawrence »

Hi crawford
I understand your frustration. Before getting a new carb why not try a Colortune plug. Beg, borrow or buy one from eBay. They give you a perfect analysis.

I bought a new set of carbs on the advice of a dealer (now defunct) for my Bonneville. The problem turned out to be frayed throttle cables. He didn't want to take the carbs back either. The slide on my 389 is very lose but the bike runs well.
crawsue

G5 Carburation.

Post by crawsue »

Thanks,local spanner-man will try with his colour tune tomorrow.I can't beleive that my slide is in such bad condition as it is a very tight fit at the top of the carb' body!CR
itma

G5 Carburation.

Post by itma »

There are a number of silly things that you might try looking at first.