Wipac condenser no longer available

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
timeveritt

Wipac condenser no longer available

Post by timeveritt »

Hello, newbie here!
I've just bought a G5 (VYJ 414 - does anyone remember it?). I rode it home 50 miles from darkest Suffolk with no problems - apart from those arising from me never having ridden a bike with a r/h gearchange before! Then I put it into the garage and went on holiday. I took it out yesterday and had got about 2 miles and it stopped and wouldn't re-start. Like a plonker I had no tools or spares with me, so I pushed it about a mile to a friend's house (why are they called Lightweight?) from where I picked it up later with a trailer. When I got it home it started, of course. It ran for aout 10 minutes then stopped. Plug out (a bit dirty but ok) but definitely no spark. All electrical connections were tight. Looked at the points and they were stuck wide open - I'm not yet sure why. Anyway I've ordered a new set from the club, as well as a spare plug. I thought I'd also replace the condenser at the same time (and keep the old one as a spare).
The point is though, that the Wipac condenser is no longer aaible. Can anyone recommend a condenser that works correctly with this set up?
Rob Harknett

Re: Wipac condenser no longer available

Post by Rob Harknett »

If the club do not have a condenser, try e bay or Villiers services. The points were open because it was in that position the engine stopped. Or, were they actually stuck, e.g. not opening and shutting when you turned the engine over. I have never had points stick open, but, if yours are sticking open, turn the engine over to check they do shut, if not investigate why not..
Stuoyb

Post by Stuoyb »

You could wire in any condenser. Simply mount it somewhere convenient (e.g. by the coil) and extend the lead down to the points.
aobp11

Post by aobp11 »

... unless you trust the (wise? I think so) words in