No oil to rockers model 8

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
irsooty2

No oil to rockers model 8

Post by irsooty2 »

Hi all, I'm a newby trying to bring my model 8 kicking and screaming back to life!
I have no oil reaching the rockers ( I know this has been brought up before ) I have tried blowing air thru the oil way's but nothing! How do I get to the oil pump? The hand book only says to remove it not where from? ( sorry if it's a silly question! )
It starts well apart from black smoke ( too rich? ), oil coming thru engine casing but none reaching rockers! I'm no mechanic so don't want to mess with anything before I know what to expect!
Thanks in advance and sorry if this is a silly question!

Iain
Janet

Re: No oil to rockers model 8

Post by Janet »

First you need to take out the gearbox because the oil pump plunger comes out from the rear of the crankcase where the gearbox butts up to it. There you will see a plug that has a large slot in it for unscrewing it. It has a rubber seal round it to prevent oil loss from there. There is only one moving part in the lightweight pump that goes round whilst moving backwards and forwards. After that I can't help you because I haven't broken that bit yet.
I do remember one bloke looking at another's bike because its oil wasn't circulating. His words of wisdom were, "Eeh lad, I can see thi problem. It's not shuttling." At the time I had no idea what he was talking about.

Before you start serious dismantling, check at the oil filter to make sure there isn't anything stopping the flow there.
Rob Harknett

Post by Rob Harknett »

The bike may smoke after not being started for some time. this will take some time to clear. It will also take some time for oil to circulate. Have you referred to the bikes manual to check the oil flow to the rockers "adjuster screw ?"
irsooty2

Post by irsooty2 »

Thanks for the quick reply's!