Ajs350 1948 hunts while cruising

Helpful information and requests for assitance and advice
got2BaSBT

Ajs350 1948 hunts while cruising

Post by got2BaSBT »

Hi folks,
I'm a newbie to old brit bikes having always ridden japan bikes.
Please can you offer a little advice, I've recently purchased the above bike and whilst it runs ok generally, whilst cruising it hunts slightly.
The valve clearances, points and carb needle clip position are correct....any ideas on where you would look next. I was thinking float level height as I know that the clip recently came off before I bought the bike. I understand though that there is no spec for this?
Cheers
James
Mick D

Re: Ajs350 1948 hunts while cruising

Post by Mick D »

Hi

Check the float and needle are moving freely, (check the needle is not slightly bent). Check you don't have an air leak at the carb flange.

Regards Mick
clanger9

Post by clanger9 »

Definitely check the float height. It's often disturbed when people change the washer on the fuel inlet union without realising how important the washer thickness is.
Here's a guide for checking a monobloc: http://www.whfolk.co.uk/REOCHUMBER/Arti ... nobloc.htm
1989 Moto Morini Dart 350
1993 Ducati 750SS
Mick D

Post by Mick D »

Oops

I assumed the carb would be a 276

Regards Mick
alanengineer

Post by alanengineer »

how many grooves have you got on the needle for the clip to fit into. Im assuming you have a carb that has a float chamber next to the main part of the carb.
got2BaSBT

Post by got2BaSBT »

Thanks for the replies and guide folks.
It does have the earlier carb with the screw off cap on the float bowl.
I've been for a chug on it today and I'm convinced it's running rich, I also noticed that it idles faster and smoother when it's leaned over on its side stand.
I don't think there's any "pip" on the float bowl like in the guide.