Oil Control ring modification

Helpful information and requests for assitance and advice
Andy51

Oil Control ring modification

Post by Andy51 »

Hi, a question for the engineers out there. Some while ago I bought a +60 thou 500cc longstroke piston of unknown make without rings at an autojumble - you never know when it might come in useful. More recently I found a NOS set of +60 rings. The 2 compression rings fit their grooves, but the oil control ring is a few thou too deep top to bottom for the ring groove. I need to take a smidge off the ring; I could take it to a precision engineers and pay them to put in on a surface grinder, or I could put if on the myford and skim it. I could glue it to the faceplate, or mount it in the 3 jaw using a backing plate - your thoughts on method? Andy

Re: Oil Control ring modification

Post by 1608 »

I'm no engineer, but are you sure there is enough material on the ring to allow for it to be reduced without weakening it as they are pretty fragile.. That is assuming it is a one piece ring with slots. I would have thought a better solution would be to machine the ring groove in the piston to suit. Better still there are a number of companies (Thorntons etc. ) that could probably supply the correct size ring.
REW

Post by REW »

Andy - I have no access to lathes and other engineering tools save for a vice and a cheap pillar drill, so I tend to think up simple methods to fix things. In this case I suspect I would put a sheet of wet n dry paper on a flat surface, wet it and work the ring around while pressing on with as many fingers as I could to keep it flat.

Crude? Yes, but such methods I use quite often particularly when trying to get things to fit. Of course, this assume I understand it is the flat surfaces that sit in the top and bottom of the piston groove...
Ron

1951 Matchless G3L thumping round the Durham Dales.
JEAN-NOEL

Post by JEAN-NOEL »