G5?

Helpful information and requests for assitance and advice
TrevorB

G5?

Post by TrevorB »

Please excuse my ignorance but can someone advise the difference between the Matchless G3 and G5. I am pretty sure that the G3 is a 350 ohv model but the G5? This I have seen this described in various documents/adverts as either a 350 or a 500. I am new to all this AMC business and thought the 500 ohv single cylinder machine was known as the G80.

Thanks in anticipation.
TeeBee
Duncan

Re: G5?

Post by Duncan »

Hi Trevor, basically one is a lightweight and one is a heavyweight, have a look through the pages here ( http://www.jampot.com/H_PostWar.asp ) then come back with further questions.
TrevorB

Post by TrevorB »

Cheers for that Duncan. I'll have to do some reading up on the history of AMC and its various models.

Many thanks for the prompt and helpful response
TeeBee
Rob Harknett

Post by Rob Harknett »

Depends which era you refer to. Matchless G5 was first introduced in 1937. It was a 500 Side Valve then. The AJS model 8 was introduced in 1926, that was a 500 OHV then. There are a few post war models that were totally different in the prewar era. ( Post war G5 and mod 8 were only badge different post war. Totally different prewar. )
Ozmadman

Post by Ozmadman »