Spares question

General purpose topics/chat goes in here
Plugsnpoints
Deceased

Spares question

Post by Plugsnpoints »

I've recently acquired two AJSes (I'm not sure what the plural is!).

I have ordered quite a few consumables including the workshop manual from the club spares dept. in the past few weeks, and spent a reasonable amount.

Generally I have been very pleased with the service-order the bits online one day and they've arrived the day after.

As I am new to AMC bikes, I rung to clarify if the parts were suitable for my machines. I thought it would be sensible before I ordered the wrong bits with the added expense for return postage etc. You get the idea.

When I called to see if the bits would fit my machines I was told that they needed the part numbers as they are just pickers and packers. It was suggested I rang your technical man to check correct fitment.

To cut a long story short I gave up and went elswhere this afternoon. It's a shame as do like to support the club whenever I can. I will continue to use them, but only if I can guarantee the parts will fit!

The fella wasn't rude, but maybe the system needs to change a little.
SPRIDDLER

Re: Spares question

Post by SPRIDDLER »

Passport Final (640x440).jpg
From Jampot magazine July 2018

As you see, this isn't the first time this reasonable request has been made ;)

--------------------------------
Here's how I see it:

You can find the part numbers yourself from the various free downloadable manuals on Christian's Archive.